The Society’s Council

At the Society’s AGM held on 22 November 2017, the following Officers and Councillors were elected for a period of 12 months.


Dr Geoff Edwards

Email:  Dialogue specifically with the President – use president AT The Society’s email address rsocqld AT for general enquiries.

Phone: 0488 505 887

Dr. Edwards’ first degree was in ecological science (Monash). He worked in parks and Crown land administration in Melbourne and Port Moresby and was a local government Councillor and Shire President in Victoria. From 1991-2006 he served in Queensland’s Department of Lands/Natural Resources as Manager, Land and Regional Planning. From January 2007, he served as Chief Executive Officer, South West NRM Ltd, one of Australia’s 56 regional catchment bodies, based in Charleville. He returned to the Department of Mines and Energy to work on energy policy and retired from the public service in July 2011. He studied public administration (University of Queensland) in an endeavour to understand why environmental consciousness remained at the fringes of public policy. He obtained his doctorate (Griffith) for a critique of the mainstream view that the market is the optimum vehicle for determining where the ‘public interest’ lies. He has published in animal biology, economics, foreign affairs and public policy.

Immediate Past President

Craig Walton

Honorary Editor

Dr Diogenes Antille

Honorary Secretary



Prof Angela Arthington

Dr Paul Bell

Mr Andy Grodecki

Mr James Hansen

Dr Ross Hynes

Ms Revel Pointon

Dr Joseph McDowall.

Honorary Librarian